Simple Summer Salad

Oh boy have I been bad with my blogging lately! I was expecting to find that I would have more time to cook and blog once summer came around, but I’ve been surprised with how little of both I’ve managed to fit into my schedule.

On the bright side, the things I have been cooking have been really simple, fresh, and tasty, just like this salad I’m about to share. I visited my cousin in Toronto a few weeks ago and she turned me onto “chunky” salads, i.e. salads without greens in them. There’s something to be said about biting into nice big cubes of fresh summer veggies — especially when there’s also cheese involved!

This salad reminds me of a traditional Greek salad, but the choice of cheeses and the inclusion of avocado give it a bit of a new twist.

Yum!

Simple Summer Salad

for one large serving
1/3 cucumber
1 tomato
1/2 avocado
fresh cheese of your choice (I used fresh mozzarella, but feta or goat cheese would also be amazing in this)
olive oil
balsamic vinegar

1. Wash your vegetables thoroughly. Cut your cucumber into 4 lengthwise, then chop it up into bite-sized pieces. Cut your tomato into similar sized chunks.

2. To cut your avocado, first cut it in half lengthwise. Twist the two halves slightly to separate them from one another, then slice the inside of one half of the avocado into long strips. Cut the strips into cubes and peel them away from the avocado’s skin.
Tip: to conserve the other half of the avocado, squeeze a bit of lemon or lime juice over the exposed flesh and store in an airtight bag or container.

3. Cube or crumble your cheese of choice.

4. Combine all of your ingredients into a bowl and drizzle with a bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Stir gently so as to keep the avocado pieces whole, then serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

