Green Yoghurt Smoothie

I have fallen off my breakfast smoothie wagon lately, although I am still eating breakfast daily! (I am very proud of this.) However, I’ve come up with a new and delicious version of a green smoothie, which I’m happy to share today!

The original clean green smoothie recipe I wrote is still the one I revert to most often when I’m reaching for my blender in the morning. I like its light flavour and texture, and the ginger really gives it some zing! This smoothie is pretty different, as it contains both peanut putter (or your choice of substitute nut butter) and yoghurt. It is heavier and creamier, less fruity, but more protein-packed.

Either way, it’s nice to shake things up a bit and try new ways of getting my metabolism up and running in the morning, so this is a welcome addition to my breakfast rotation!

Green Yoghurt Smoothie

1 banana, frozen or fresh
2 tsp natural and organic peanut or other nut butter
1 cup fresh baby spinach leaves, or 3 “frozen nuggets” of spinach (I talk about these in my clean green smoothie post)
3 tsp plain green yoghurt
1 tsp hemp seed oil
water

1. Combine all the frozen ingredients in your blender and pour warm water over them, just covering the ingredients, to help thaw them out a bit. This will make the blending a bit easier on your blender’s blades.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until everything is fully combined. Drink immediately!

Green yogurt smoothie… half consumed. Heehee!

Leave a Reply

