Asparagus and Onion Quiche with Parmesan

I have a love-love relationship with quiche. It is such a delicious savoury dish, and because you can vary the filling, it never gets old for me! I tend to have a pie shell in my freezer at the ready, so that whenever my quiche mood strikes, I can satisfy it immediately. I love that the preparation time for quiche is relatively low, but the recipe can last a few days if you’re feeding one or two people. It’s easy to pack for lunch, and it’s a good way to get your protein in at any time of day because it’s breakfast, lunch, and dinner-friendly!

This quiche is a bit pared down compared to my usual veggie-loaded quiches (for my other quiche recipe, click here!). In fact, as my sister and I where preparing this quiche yesterday afternoon, we joked about how using fewer ingredients makes a quiche seem fancier… whereas lots of ingredients make a quiche feel more homey and hearty.

So this is our take on snooty high-class quiche. The parmesan layer gets golden brown and crunchy, and the sweetness of the onions complements the fresh asparagus perfectly. I promise you, it is very, very good!

The quiche, fresh out of the oven!

Asparagus and Onion Quiche with Parmesan

1 frozen pie shell
4 eggs
1/4 cup milk or plain non-fat yoghurt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 onion
small pat of butter
1 bunch asparagus
freshly grated parmesan
olive oil
salt and freshly cracked black pepper

1. Preheat your oven to 350º. Place a small pan on medium to low heat and melt a small amount of butter in it. Take your pie shell out of the freezer and allow it to thaw while you prepare your other ingredients.

2. Peel and dice the onion into 1/2-inch squares and add to the pan. Stir to coat the onions with butter and allow the onions to cook until translucent, about 5 to 10 minutes. Set aside.

3. Meanwhile, wash the asparagus and trim the wooden ends off. Place the asparagus on a baking sheet, drizzle with a bit of olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Then, use your hands to toss the asparagus to ensure they are evenly coated with oil. Roast the asparagus in the oven for 5 to 10 minutes, keeping a close eye on them so they do not overcook.

3. Allow the asparagus to cool a few moments, then transfer all but 8 asparagus spears to a cutting board and slice them into 1-inch pieces. Combine with the onions (I did this in the pan), mix, then transfer the mixture into the pie shell.

4. In a large bowl, beat the eggs with the milk or yoghurt and nutmeg. I also add freshly ground pepper directly into the egg mixture, but this is optional.

5. Pour the beaten egg mixture over the asparagus and onions. Top with a pretty arrangement of the remaining asparagus — I fanned mine out like a star shape (well… that’s what I was going for, anyway).

6. Grate your parmesan and sprinkle it all over the top of the quiche.

7. Bake the quiche in the oven for 40 minutes, until the eggs have set and the cheese is golden. (I bake mine for 20 minutes, rotate the pie 180 degrees, and bake it for another 20 minutes, as my oven is not totally even. This allows me to get a nice, evenly browned quiche every time!)

8. Serve hot with a side salad or bowl of soup, or just on its own!

Leave a Reply

