Breakfast Blueberry Oat Loaf

Ever since I’ve started eating breakfast regularly, I wake up every morning and I am ravenous! I’ve graduated from just having a smoothie and I’m now supplementing my morning shake with other foods. In fact, I find that if I front-load my day with good, filling food, I have more energy throughout the day and I tend to eat less junk food. I assume this is because my blood sugar levels are more balanced, but I don’t know for sure.

Because I’m a total breakfast convert now, I’m trying to find some tasty and healthy breakfast options to start adding variety to my morning munching.

My basic criteria for breakfast are:
– lots of protein
– lots of fibre
– as much fruit as possible
– really quick to make
– and of course, it has to taste good

So, the time factor eliminates eggs, and most baked goods have too much refined sugar to be fibrous enough for my standards. I’ve been rocking oatmeal these days (with lots of soy/almond milk, blueberries, almonds, and real maple syrup — yum!) but I find that chewing oatmeal is oddly time-consuming. Of course, a good piece of whole grain toast with peanut or almond butter is always an option… but I don’t own a toaster, so that’s also out of the question. Most of the time, I stick to my smoothie and then either have some yoghurt and granola, the oatmeal concoction, or a handful of nuts. Once in a while I cave and buy a bagel mid-morning to keep me going.

However, I do love a thick slice of cakey, delicious loaf once in a while, so I put this dense but healthy one together over the weekend and have been enjoying it since! The oats provide lots of fibre and some protein, the yoghurt keeps it light and fat-free, and the blueberries just make it taste wonderful!

Be warned: this loaf is more chewy than most loafs, and it is not very sweet either. I am considering adding a hint of cinnamon to it next time, but it was delicious without it! You could also make this with apples, raspberries, blackberries, banana… the fruit options are endless.

I am starting to think that I may have to add some healthy baking to my usual Sunday morning activities, so that I can get through the week without missing the most important meal of the day!

The loaf, fresh out of the oven.

Breakfast Blueberry Oat Loaf

1 cup instant oats
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup spelt flour
3 tsp sugar
1 tsp baking soda
3 tsp maple syrup
2/3 cup plain non-fat yoghurt mixed with 1/2 cup water
1 tsp butter, melted
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen wild blueberries because they’re tiny, which means there’s lots of them throughout the loaf)

1. Preheat your oven to 425º. Grease a bread loaf pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix the oats, flours, sugar, and baking soda.

3. In a large wet measuring cup, mix the yoghurt, water, melted butter, and maple syrup until the mixture has the texture and look of half-and-half — it will be easier to pour than the cream but should be similar otherwise.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix with a spatula until everything is well integrated. You want the batter to be sticky but not too wet, such that when you put it in the loaf pan you need to spread it out with a spatula. If the dough is too dry, simply add one tbsp of water at a time until you reach the right consistency.

5. Fold in the blueberries, then pour the batter into the bread pan and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted into the centre of the loaf comes out clean. Let the loaf cool 5-10 minutes.

6. Serve with a pat of butter, drizzle of maple syrup, your favourite jam, or on its own!

No better way to start the day!

Leave a Reply

