Clean Green Smoothie

I know I posted about my resolutions for 2012 a little while ago, but I have a secret other resolution that I have been sticking to rather well thus far: to eat breakfast. There are SO many studies out there that have proven time and time again that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but I’ve never really been a fan of breakfast early in the morning. In fact, I get nauseous if I eat too quickly after getting up in the morning. It’s like my body is rejecting food while it gets out of its slumbering state.

However, I think I’ve found the cure to my early morning food aversion: smoothies! I have a hand-held immersion blender that makes putting a smoothie together as easy as pie. If you add the right ingredients to one of these babies then you are looking at a full meal in a glass — or in my case, my cold beverage travel mug. I can sip at it all morning for a sustained energy kick and it keeps me full, too!

I don’t like my smoothies very sweet so the recipe below is more gingery and fresh tasting than it is fruity. Alter the recipe according to your tastes until you find your optimal blend! I’ve included lots of options for you to play with. All you have to do is put your chosen ingredients in your blender and blend until smooth!

Clean Green Smoothie

must-have ingredients
1 cup spinach (fresh, or 1/2 cup frozen)
1/2 a banana
1/2 cup frozen mangoes
1/2 inch slice of fresh ginger, peeled
1/2-1 cup almond milk, depending on your preferred consistency

fruity and veggie extras (use frozen or fresh)
1/4 cup wild blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, peaches, pineapple
1/2 cup kale
1/4 cup parsley (fresh is better)

healthful extras (pick 2-4 of these if you can)
1 tbsp hemp hearts
1 tbsp chia seeds (soak in water for 5-10 minutes before adding — I do this step first and they’re ready by the time I’ve combined everything else)
1 tsp hemp or flax or EFA oil
1/2 tsp matcha powder
edit: I recently purchased a vegan protein mix and have been adding a few spoonfuls to my smoothies as well, which is a good way to make sure I’m getting lots of nutrients throughout the day

Clean green smoothie ready to go for my day!

7 thoughts on “Clean Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Spinach and Feta Scramble | dontforgettheoliveoil

  2. Pingback: Foodie Friend Friday: Becca’s St. Patrick’s Day Salad | dontforgettheoliveoil

  3. Pingback: Matcha Yoghurt | dontforgettheoliveoil

  4. Pingback: Breakfast Blueberry Oat Loaf | dontforgettheoliveoil

  5. Pingback: Ho, ho, ho, Green Monsters | The Cozy Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Green Yoghurt Smoothie | dontforgettheoliveoil

Leave a Reply

