Slow Cooker Southern Style Chicken with Okra, Black Beans, and Rice

My aunt gave me some birthday money back in September that I couldn’t decide what to do with. I knew I wanted something for my teeny tiny student kitchen, but I didn’t quite know what my new toy would be. As my schedule got busier and busier, with a part-time job consuming most of the “free” time I had when school was over and done with, I realized that a slow cooker may be a great fit for my increasingly hectic life. So, in December, I got my hands on my very own crock pot and got busy right away with a yummy recipe from scratch! I hope you like it as much as I did! I think I’ll be making a vegetarian chili next…

Slow Cooker Southern Style Chicken with Okra, Black Beans, and Rice

2-3 large skinless chicken breasts or 6-8 skinless boneless chicken thighs
1 can black beans, drained
2 small onions
3 cloves garlic
large handful green beans
about 20 okra
1 cup wild rice blend
1 can diced tomatoes or 3-4 fresh tomatoes, chopped
2-3 cups water
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 tsp ground sage
2 bay leaves
dash of cayenne pepper, if you like spice
olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

1. Turn your slow cooker on to high and heat a drizzle of olive oil.

2. Chop the onions and mince the garlic. Wash the green beans and cut them into 1-inch pieces. Wash the okra and cut them into 1/2-inch thick rounds (you should get 3-4 pieces per okra). Drain the black beans.

3. If you are using chicken breasts, I would suggest cutting them into single serving portions prior to adding them to the crock pot. When you get to serving, it will be much easier.

4. Add the onions and garlic to the warming slow cooker and fry for a few minutes, until partially softened. Add the remaining ingredients, stir, and cover. The water should be barely covering all ingredients. Reduce the slow cooker temperature to low and cook for 6 to 8 hours. Season with salt and pepper as needed and serve hot.

Not the most beautiful of photographs but it gives you an idea of the dish... which is amazing!

Leave a Reply

