Tea Infused Shortbread

As you may or may not know, I work at a wonderful tea store (DAVIDsTEA) and am a bit of a tea fanatic. One of my coworkers has a blog where she cooks with tea, and if you are ever looking for a cool new recipe I would highly recommend you check it out. It is aptly named “Cooking With Tea.”

I found this recipe on her blog and simply had to make my own batch! I absolutely love, and I mean L-O-V-E, Quangzhou Milk Oolong and couldn’t wait to put it in some cookies. (The oolong from my own tin of Milk Oolong is pictured in the banner above this recipe!) Although I didn’t add the rosemary and lemon as my coworker did, I still loved my version… they are so rich and have a wonderful creamy aftertaste from the tea.

Of course, you can make this recipe with any type of tea, though I strongly suggest loose leaf tea as it is of higher quality and is more fragrant. I will probably try my hand at some Pumpkin Chai shortbread sometime soon…

Tea Infused Shortbread

1 cup butter
1 tsp Milk Oolong leaves (or 1-2 tsp of your tea of choice)
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cups flour

1. Preheat your oven to 325º. Line a baking pan with parchment or wax paper.

2. In a small sauce pan, melt the butter on low heat. Add the tea and infuse for approximately 10 minutes, stirring often and checking to make sure the butter does not brown or burn.

3. Remove the butter from the heat and strain it through a sieve or cheesecloth.

4. Mix the butter with the brown sugar and flour until the mixture resembles damp sand. The ingredients should combine reasonably easily, though you may want to mix it with your hands to make sure it is uniform.

5. Transfer the cookie mixture onto the pan, spread it out evenly, and press it down to form a compressed layer. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown and crispy.

6. Allow the shortbread to cool for a few minutes before cutting it into squares, rectangles, triangles… whatever you’d like! However don’t wait too long to slice them, as they may be too crumbly when cool. Enjoy these delightful cookies on their own or with a tangy fruit compote, as pictured below. A cup of tea is also a must!!

Delicious!

2 thoughts on “Tea Infused Shortbread

  1. Pingback: Tea Infused Shortbread, Take 2 | dontforgettheoliveoil

  2. Pingback: Buttery Lavender Cookies | dontforgettheoliveoil

Leave a Reply

